Kill Your Darlings

Dr Dracula & Mr Harker is Torgny Lilja's brand new collection of poetry, which hopefully will be out next year in both English and Swedish. The collection will first be presented as a serial on this site.

In a blend of modernism, creative writing, popular culture, journalese and adspeak, the varying poems contain elements of philosophy, travesty, irony and societal satire. At the core is freedom of choice, opinion and expression.

Skuggsång i Provence is a collection of Lilja's poems from 1980 to 2010. It’s a prolonged version of the 1998 edition. 

The collection covers three broad themes: love, life (from youth to maturity) and death. Typical is a description of nature reflecting longing and loneliness. There are also poems depicting the modern cityscape.

Skuggsång contains poems in Swedish and English. The title refers to a bird's singing to itself in order to practice.

Lilja has also rendered Anna Akhmatova's cycle Requiem into Swedish verse.

Dr Dracula 2012 
Skuggsång 2010 
Skuggsång 1998 
Rekviem 2010